Pots and plants – inspiration for a non-gardener

IMG_0425

As we quickly head into autumn, at least in this part of the world, it is kind of nice to remember summer and what I did then. After all it´s a year until the next one! This is one of the day trips I did in Stockholm this summer.

I´m not a gardener. I have sometimes lived in places with a garden and felt the pressure to make it perfect. It has never worked out. I´m deeply impressed with people who are patient and tenacious enough to plot around and build a beautiful garden, even if it takes them 20 years or more. But it´s not me.

When son was staying with me all summer, we decided to go on a few excursions to places we had never been to or not visited for a long time. A place he had not been to since pre-school, and I had not been for twenty years was the Botanical garden in Stockholm, or Bergianska Trädgården.

 

It was a lovely day at the end of August, so the place had an almost Zen-like quality to it, as we could walk around without feeling crowded by tourists and families visiting the park. Compared to other botanical gardens I´ve been to abroad Bergianska has pretty small greenhouses, and to get the full impact of the gardens you have to visit in the summertime when you can walk around the park, take in the splendor of the trees and summer plants and even go down to the water/lake, Brunnsviken. It is very much a summer thing to visit Bergianska, but they do have a fantastic Novemberlight-fest (this year Nov 5) that I just might visit.

We arrived rather late in the afternoon for this day-trip, and so we decided to skip the Victoria greenhouse, famous for its giant waterlilies, and concentrate on Edward Anderssons green-house. It´s divided into different themes -parts of the world, and thats pretty interesting in itself.  What really impresses a non-gardener like myself is the complex, strange and beautiful green plants that exists all over the world. Flowers are pretty, but the green plants are very impressive.

I´m always excited with plants that bear fruits or berrys. Somehow I think I might be a frustrated farmer, because reality shows involving farmlife and houses in the country always has me hooked. Lousy gardener that I am. But I do have a citrus-tree (mini-miniversion) in my kitchen-window so that got my attention.


While son found an old friend, the meat-eating plant! We had a minimini-version of this when he was a kid, and he used to take a morbid interest in checking to see if any insects got stuck in the plant. I can assure you they never did.


We finished our visit with a FIKA. By now that expression must be known all over the world just as “Afternoon tea” is a British classic. Fika is basically coffee or tea with a little nugget (cake, hard bread, cookies – it´s your choice) and its almost a religion in Sweden. You fikar at work, in school, when you visit people and when you get to know them. And preferably twice a day – morningfika and afternoonfika. I promise you, the fika at Bergianska was top-notch!

 

I mean – I even had to take a bite before taking this photo!!

2 thoughts on “Pots and plants – inspiration for a non-gardener

  1. Hi Angelin. The photos are great! You are not alone. I’m no gardener. The only time I was able to grow plants or anything remotely close to a garden was when I lived in New Jersey and had beautiful peonies on one side of the house and gorgeous hydrangea on the other side. Then with my divorce, I lost my home. I’ve given up on gardening except for a few plants scattered through the house and the mums on the deck–and Bonaparte takes care of them. You were lucky to have your son with you for the summer!! That’s nice company!!!!

    • He stayed for a full 3 months, so yes! And pots is definitely the way to go! I have small balcony and I fill it with pots, and usually the plantshop tells me “This is a perennial, you can have it for years” – and I just smile sweetly. The only thing that ever survived a winter on my balcony is a sage-plant that refuses to give up. It should have a medal.

Comments are closed.