Diplomacy on the third day of Christmas

20141226_1621_0009

On Boxing Day we Went to the Theatre, and I made a real effort to look nice! I put on my new black 40´s dress from Trashy Diva, and a bolero from Collectif, made up my face and did my hair in a 40´s kind of look.

I used to go to the theatre a lot, but in the last 5-6 years I haven´t. I really looked forward to this and bought TOM tickets as a Christmas pressie, and tried to choose something he would like. It felt appropriate to dress up as the play we went to see was called Diplomacy and the setting was Paris on Aug 25 1944. A really interesting story based on true events, when the Swedish diplomat Raoul Nordling managed to persuade the German general

von Cholitz not to carry out the orders from Hitler to destroy Paris in a last attempt to stop the allied troups. The Germans had already placed bombs all over the city, and the plan was to totally destroy bridges and all the famous landmarks and let the water do the rest…

Raoul Nordling was awarded one of the finest and rarest of French medals after the war and was awarded the title of Honorary Citizen of Paris, together with Churchill and Eisenhower.

I have to admit I had never Heard of him Before yesterday, but hade to google the story (TG for Google and Wikipedia!!) and found the whole story very fascinating. Really good actors as well, Allan Svensson and Tomas Bolme in the leads, and interesting to find that TOM, who hasn´t been to the Theatre for years and years, was totally immersed:)

20141226_1621_0008

